Forum Navigation
Forum breadcrumbs - You are here:WeLoveGod RallysPublic Forums: abesermonsVISION
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

VISION

Posted by: bhfbc <bhfbc@...>

VISION
April 2, 2006

TEXT: Matthew 16:21-28

As a high school student, I took the math and science courses available to me. In college, I graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering. I served over four years in submarines, a Navy vessel that has technical equipment packed into almost every available space. I am quite comfortable trying to figure out how things work and running experiments. So, this morning, we are going to do an experiment.

Everyone wearing glasses: remove them. If you have contacts, do not remove them; we’re not going to get that involved. But if you have glasses, take them off. Now take your bulletin and hold it so you can read it. (Or take a look at the chart on the screen.) What do you notice? For most of us with our glasses off this morning, the world gets blurred. Words are no longer readable. In fact, for you who do not need corrective lenses, read this chart for me. You get the idea now. I would be unable to function very well without my glasses. I would certainly be unable to drive or read much or do anything that requires any amount of eyesight at all. So these prescription lenses are very important to me. Without them, I would not have clear vision.

The point of this morning’s experiment is to get us thinking about vision. Everyone prefers to operate with clear vision. That goes beyond eyesight, too. Vision also refers to imagination and looking ahead and planning. We like to have clear vision there, too.